Irepodun APC stakeholders berate Minister over snide comments on membership registration

Irepodun APC stakeholders berate Minister over snide comments on membership registration

APC stakeholders in Irepodun Local Government Area of Kwara State has condemned the snide comments made by Hon. Minister of information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, on the party’s membership registration.


In a communiqué signed by eminent personalities from Irepodun LG, the minister was accused of staging a disinformation campaign after taking part in the registration exercise in his hometown in Oro.


The statement read in part:


“Although the Hon. Minister  claimed in his press statement to hail from Ifelodun, it is common knowledge that his hometown, Oro, falls within Irepodun.


“The stakeholders in Irepodun completely disassociate ourselves and our Local Government from the Minister’s wild claims.


“The registration in Irepodun Local Government  has gone on  smoothly with official documents (registration forms and registers) used properly and the guidelines painstakingly followed.


“If the Honourable minister consulted and respect  his associates, including Ambassador Niyi Abioye, and  foot soldiers, who registered without any problem  and even displayed their slips on social media, he would not be putting up  this utterly reckless campaign.


“In Oro Wards 1 and 2, the immediate constituency of the Honourable Minister, the exercise took place smoothly with huge turn out and registration of members. The exercise was so successful that the forms supplied were exhausted in most units by Friday. Despite that, a space was consciously reserved for  the  Honourable Minister  to register.


“If the registers were hoarded , where did the Hon. Minister get  his form and register for the exercise?


“Irepodun was duly represented at the APC Stakeholders meeting on the registration  exercise at Government  Banquet Hall, Ilorin, two weeks ago. Among the attendees were Kwara South Chairman, Hon. Olayemi Olabanji, the Member representing Irepodun Local Givernment in the State House if Assembly, Hon. Tayo Awodiji, and notable leaders including  Prince Shuaib Olanrewaju and Oloriewe Raheem Adedoyin.”


The stakeholders expressed disappointment that the Hon. Minister hid under a nebulous tendencies creation to spread disinformation.


They noted that “in Irepodun where the Minister actually hails from, there is no such grouping. None of our elected party and legislative leaders in Irepodun including APC Kwara South Chairman, Hon. Olayemi Olabanji, our representative at the National Assembly, Hon. Raheem Olawuyi Ajulo and our representatives at the Kwara Stare House of Assembly,  Hon. Tayo Awodiji belongs to the so- called Fagbemi Group which  the Minister and his cohorts have been conveniently maligning.

“Indeed, our elected and other frontline  leaders were in the forefront of the APC parallel congress of 2018 whose participants have now been fraudulently categorised as Lai Group.


“In conclusion, Irepodun Local Government stakeholders disassociate ourselves from the disinformation being spread by the Hon. Minister of Information and Culture, Alh. Lai Mohammed on the  ongoing registration exercise.


“Indeed, the success of  the exercise in Alh. Lai Mohammed’s domain is so huge that our people are already clamouring for more registration forms,” they said.


The statement was signed by:


1. Hon. Olayemi Olabanji

APC Kwara South Senatorial Chairman

2. Hon. Raheem Olawuyi (Ajulo),

Member, Federal House of Representatives, Abuja.

3. Hon. Tayo Awodiji

Member, Kwara State House of Assembly, Ilorin.

4. Princess Olubukola Babalola,

Deputy Chief of Staff, Government House, Ilorin.

5. Elder Agboola Adewumi,

Member, APC  Kwara State Caretaker Executive

6. Prince Shuaib Olanrewaju

7.  Oloriewe Raheem Adedoyin

8. Dr. Bashir Ibrahim

9. Alh. Raheem Olokoba

10. Prince Samuel Alebiosu

11. Barr. Teju Oguntoye

12  Gen. Lasisi Abidoye( Rtd)

13. Mr. Debo Adeleke

14. Mrs Deborah Aremu

15. Mrs Oluwatoyin Opawoye

16 Comrade Ben Duntoye

17.  Chief Gbenga Awoyale( Orisun)

18. Chief Raphael Awotunde

19. Dr. Sule Popoola

20. Mr. Femi Ajibade

21 Mrs Shade Omoniyi


DON’T MISS THIS – Register to become a member of APC

Please follow us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word.