Osinbajo, AbdulRazaq, 6 Other Governors to attend The Guardian book launch

Osinbajo, AbdulRazaq, 6 Other Governors to attend The Guardian book launch

No fewer than seven state governors are billed to attend the launch of the epochal book on the first 10 years of The Guardian newspaper and celebration of the founding publisher, Alex Uruemu Ibru.


The book titled: “The Making of The Nigerian Flagship: A Story of The Guardian” is due for unveiling on April 7, 2021 at the Balmoral Events and Conference Centre of Federal Palace Hotel, Victoria Island, Lagos.


The 600-page book, in both hardback and paper back, includes first-hand recollections of experiences by scores of journalists and writers among the newspaper’s near 400 former staff who will also be getting together to honour the founding publisher.


Among state executives on schedule are Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu. He is attending as chief host. His Delta counterpart, Ibru’s state of origin, Ifeanyi Okowa, is co-host.


Chairman of the Nigeria Governors’ Forum (NGF) and Ekiti State helmsman, himself, a former staff of The Guardian, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, would also grace the event along with his Kwara, Kogi, Enugu and Rivers colleagues: AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq, Yahaya Bello, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi and Nyesom Wike.


They are to be joined by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, who has since confirmed his participation as special guest of honour to deliver the keynote address.


More than 100 top journalists, publishers and news media managers would also be at the August gathering.


The authors, Aaron Ukodie and Seun Ogunseitan, said aides of the affected governors have confirmed that their principals are looking forward towards the occasion.


According to them, “that event promises to be one that would witness the convergence of the greatest number of newsmen, politicians and businessmen in recent times.”


Media entrepreneurs, opinion moulders and managers are among the more than 250 guests billed for the presentation that vividly captures how The Guardian was made and became the Flagship of the Nigerian media, especially in its first 10 years covering 1983 to 1993.


Among the top media men gracing the ceremony include Member of Editorial Board and founding member of The Guardian, Dr. Patrick Dele Cole, pioneer editorial board member of the medium, Prof. Femi Osofisan and anchor of the Good Morning Nigeria Show on Nigerian Television Authority (NTA), Kingsley Osadolor.


Others are Publisher of Premium Times, Dapo Olorunyomi, former Commissioner for Information , Kwara State and Member of the Executive Biard if the International Press Institute( IPI), Mr. Raheem Adedoyin, Chairman, Editorial Board, ThisDay, Segun Adeniyi, Deputy Managing Director, ThisDay Newspaper, Kayode Komolafe and Managing Director, Sun Newspapers, Onuoha Ukeh.


Chief Segun Osoba, who wrote the foreword, will be the father of the day.

Please follow us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word.